British Place Names

A comprehensive online gazetteer

Home » East Sussex » Twelve Oaks, East Sussex - local map, administrative data, historical information and reader comments

Twelve Oaks, East Sussex

Local area map loading...

Twelve Oaks, East Sussex

In Margaret Mitchell's novel Gone with the Wind, Twelve Oaks is the plantation of the Wilkes family in Clayton County, Georgia named for the twelve great oak trees that surround the family mansion in an almost perfect circle, a "beautiful white-columned house that crowned the hill like a Greek Temple".
Administrative CountyEast Sussex
Traditional CountySussex
OS GridTQ6820
OS Settlement ClassificationOther settlement (village, hamlet etc)
RegionSouth East
Police AuthoritySussex

Your comments about Twelve Oaks, East Sussex

What do you know about Twelve Oaks, East Sussex? Give us the benefit of your local knowledge and opinions here!

comments powered by Disqus